AMUG awards DINOs

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +


The prestigious award recognizes experience and service.


MILWAUKEE, WISC., May 4, 2018 – The Additive Manufacturing Users Group (AMUG) today announced the recipients of its prestigious DINO (Distinguished INnovator Operator) Award for additive manufacturing expertise and service. The awards were presented at the 30th annual users group conference held in St. Louis, Missouri.

During its annual Awards Banquet, AMUG presented eight DINO Awards that recognized industry veterans for years of experience, contributions to the additive manufacturing industry, and active support of the users group. The newly named DINOs are:

  • Andy Christensen, Somaden LLC
  • Rey Chu, PADT, Inc.
  • Douglas Greenwood, Fleet Readiness Center East
  • Steve Hanna, 3D Systems
  • Rick Pressley, Renaissance Services, Inc.
  • Andrew Sliwa, Custom Prototypes Inc.
  • Fried Vancraen, Materialise
  • Pat Warner, Renault Sport Formula One

Paul Bates, AMUG president, said,

“There were many candidates that had the tenure suited for this coveted award. However, that is just one criteria. To be a DINO, one must also give back to the industry and support AMUG. These eight individuals rose above all others because of what they have done and what they have achieved.”

The new DINOs have been advocates and early adopters of additive manufacturing in the medical, aerospace, motorsports and defense industries, amongst others. Their efforts behind the scenes and from the public stage have advanced the technology and the applications that leverage its capabilities. Through direct contributions and corporate support, all have had a hand in making the AMUG Conference a positive experience for those seeking insights and information.

Bates said,

The impact of these individuals on the additive manufacturing industry and on the success of the users group is awe-inspiring. It was my honor to share the stage with this incredible group of individuals that have worked towards a common cause—success with additive manufacturing.”

Over its 30-year history, AMUG has awarded only 149 DINOs. Although there are many deserving of the recognition as a DINO, AMUG limits this prestigious award to no more than ten individuals each year.


AMUG is an organization that educates and advances the uses and applications of additive manufacturing technologies. AMUG members include those with industrial additive manufacturing/3D printing technologies used for professional purposes from companies such as Stratasys, DSM Additive Manufacturing, SLM Solutions, GE Additive, ExOne, Renishaw, HP Inc., 3D Systems, Carbon, EOS, Formlabs, Desktop Metal and Additive Industries. AMUG meets annually to provide education and training through technical presentations on processes and new technologies. This information addresses operation of additive manufacturing equipment and the applications that use the parts they make. Online at

Image Caption (AMUG DINOs 2018): Front row (left to right): Andy Christensen, Steve Hanna, Pat Warner and Rey Chu. Back row (Left to right): Fried Vancraen, Andrew Sliwa, Douglas Greenwood and Rick Pressley.

additive manufacturing newsletter


Additive Manufacturing