New Board announced by AMUG

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +


In vote of confidence, members re-elect board for subsequent term.

MILWAUKEE, WISC., May 3, 2018 – The Additive Manufacturing Users Group (AMUG) today announced its 2018—2019 board. Elected by AMUG members during the annual business meeting held at the 2018 AMUG Conference in St. Louis, Missouri, the board’s primary responsibility will be to build and oversee the 2019 conference.

Resultado de imagem para amug logoFrom the slate of candidates, AMUG members voted in favor of subsequent terms for candidates seeking re-election. Paul Bates, who is manager of UL’s Additive Manufacturing Competency Center, was re-elected as the group’s president. Bates, who has six years of AMUG service, has previously held the positions of deputy vice president and vice president.

Recognizing Bate’s second term, members supported the continuation of Mark Barfoot’s (Cimetrix Solutions) position as past president. In the role of vice president, AMUG members re-elected Jamie Cone of BD and Carl Dekker of Met-L-Flo. Tom Sorovetz of FCA was re-elected to the position of the event manager.

Secretary Kim Killoran opted to step down after filling this position for five years. To replace her, members elected Leslie Frost of GE Additive. Killoran noted that she will continue to work with the AMUG Board in a supporting role.

Bates said,

“The 2018 AMUG Conference was a huge success, according to our members. That was made possible by the hard work and passion of our board and all those that support it. I am very pleased to once again lead this team as we build the 2019 program.”

Candidates for the appointed positions of chairman, treasurer, and AM industry advisor were proposed and accepted by the incoming board. With these appointments, the 2018- 2019 AMUG Board members are:

  • President: Paul Bates, UL
  • Past President: Mark Barfoot, Cimetrix Solutions
  • Vice President: Carl Dekker, Met-L-Flo
  • Vice President: Jamie Cone, BD
  • Event Manager: Tom Sorovetz, FCA
  • Secretary: Leslie Frost, GE Additive
  • Chairman: Gary Rabinovitz, Reebok
  • Treasurer: Vince Anewenter, Milwaukee School of Engineering
  • AM Industry Advisor: Todd Grimm, T. A. Grimm & Associates

The board’s responsibilities will include building the program for the 2019 conference, soliciting support from businesses in the additive manufacturing industry, and overseeing the event’s day-to-day activities. The five-day conference will include a two-night exhibitor expo, hands-on workshops, instructional sessions, technical presentations, and an Awards Banquet gala. The 2019 AMUG Conference will be held in Chicago, Illinois, from March 31 through April 4.


AMUG is an organization that educates and advances the uses and applications of additive manufacturing technologies. AMUG members include those with industrial additive manufacturing/3D printing technologies used for professional purposes from companies such as Stratasys, DSM Additive Manufacturing, SLM Solutions, GE Additive, ExOne, Renishaw, HP Inc., 3D Systems, Carbon, EOS, Formlabs, Desktop Metal and Additive Industries. AMUG meets annually to provide education and training through technical presentations on processes and new technologies. This information addresses operation of additive manufacturing equipment and the applications that use the parts they make. Online at

Image caption (2018-2019 AMUG Board.jpg): Newly elected AMUG Board. Front row (L to R): Mark Barfoot, Leslie Frost, Carl Dekker and Tom Sorovetz. Back row (L to R): Vince Anewenter, Jamie Cone, Paul Bates, Todd Grimm and Gary Rabinovitz.

Find Metal 3D Printer Manufacturers on AdditiveNews Business Directory

Sources & More information
Related article categories:

Article and featured image:

The Press Release was gently conceded by AMUG (Additive Manufacturing Users Group).

AMUG logo visited on May 5th, 2018;

additive manufacturing newsletter




Additive Manufacturing